For equality.

As this is the first entry you will read on this blog and actually the first blog entry I have ever written you probably expect something grand. Something that has literally waited in the back of my mind for its release, ready to be read. Well, that might be true, but it is not aspiring to be grand. Not at all. And that is exactly what this entry is about. It is about the “little things”.

Lately, I have noticed that many of us don’t pay them much attention. Maybe that’s the case because we all get older and have other things to worry about. That’s what they say anyway. I think that’s simply, well, rubbish. Why would we not have time to be amazed by the first bit of sunshine of the year or to wonder why a piece of music can make someone’s day and think about it for a while? If that sounds a little bit gooey to you then you have probably forgotten how to view the world “through children’s eyes”. Personally, I have never really lost that attitude, because for me those are the things that make life interesting. Little observations that are being investigated by a curious, childlike mind. I like sharing findings with my friends and that might be the reason why some of them call me “a little bit crazy”. But for me, anyone who does not let this perspective in is most certainly crazy. Why would I not be positively surprised when the one-in-a-hundred-stranger just says “hello” on the street? That’s great! Don’t straight away assume that the person that has just passed had worked out some evil plan to take over the world and the unexpected greeting was surely part of it. No, maybe they just felt like it.

Studying International Relations, serious matters are just as important to me but I like to keep a good balance. And it seems to work for me. I’d like for people to get the enthusiasm back they have lost somewhere along the way and let curiousity back in. Equality between the grown-up self and the one that lets loose, goes ahead and just lets the mind wander, without worrying about the consequences. Some of us could do with that. And for the realist amongst us: Yes, you’ll definitely get something out of it.

So as you might be able to tell, this blog is going to cover a variety of serious and less serious matters: music, politics, thoughts, the media, impressions, visions and maybe even ladybugs and trampolines – who knows? Well, I should, but not just yet. I’ll most likely surprise myself and am looking forward to let you into this mad little world of mine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to For equality.

  1. ? says:

    :)Rather marvelous x

  2. Hanna la Kiw says:

    Hi, nice first entry and welcome to the nice world of blogging. I am looking forward to read more about “the little things” – which are most of the time the interesting ones.
    Good luck
    Hanna

  3. Paulinka says:

    Ohhh Dinka, it’s so nice what you’ve written here :) another talent of you: creative writing :) that’s fact tht it is the hardest to notice the smallest things, which usually turn out to be the most important :)
    Yesterday I passed the office and you weren’t inside.. so sad sad sad. miss u xxxx

  4. Andy says:

    Very well put. Many people forget to appreciate the little things in life. Take time to sit back, relax and just smile.

  5. saracita says:

    Hmmm… I am looking forward to seeing & reading more. I shall be back. :)

  6. Weeks Ringle says:

    Lovely. Your rain photography is beautiful. Keep at it. Best Wishes.

Leave a Reply

